‘Twas a good day

Last night while we were eating an amazing homemade batch of beef stroganoff for dinner I had this sense that my husband and I had rounded a corner, so to speak, on the whole settling in to our new surroundings. It was a great feeling. Besides the obvious that it’s great to feel and be aware of “happy” in your life, it was a significant revelation because it came on an ordinary Sunday: It wasn’t a holiday; our favorite team had not won; no one got engaged or announced an expecting delivery. We both actually had to work for most of the day and this dinner was our first moment we had to sit down and chat. When I said what I was thinking out loud to him, he responded, “Totally.” πŸ˜‰

So what’s different now that wasn’t there before? Hard to say. I know he has gotten really great feedback from his job so far and that’s important for a dude. For me, I am slowly getting closer to what I would like to be doing and at the same time not feeling so much pressure to get there right away. The winter weather has been mild here with lots of sunshine. Holiday travels are over and we have put away our luggage for longer than two weeks. And I think most important of all, we’re on the same page about stuff. In his words, Totally.

πŸ™‚

Leave a comment